Red Hot Chili Peppers – ‘Greatest Hits’ (2003)

I remember receiving the original CD for my 9th birthday. Along with Gorillaz’s debut album, this was the first CD I owned and I remember my experience with it vividly. I’d spend hours in the garden with my portable CD player just replaying it over and again and from then on, my love for this band blossomed.

Red Hot Chili Peppers have conjured up a superb discography of varied styles and sounds over their expansive 33-year career. This Greatest Hits compilation showcases the supreme talent the various members had as pure musicians. From the soft-rock of “Under the Bridge” through to more hard-hitting tracks like “Suck My Kiss” and the previously unreleased “Fortune Faded” which instantly became one of my favourite tracks.

If there was an updated hits compilation, I’d definitely put a few tracks from 2006 album “Stadium Arcadium” as that is in my opinion one of their strongest bodies of work and of course John Frusciante’s swan-song for the band.

Favourite track: Scar Tissue // Least favourite track: Road Trippin’

Leave a Reply

